#Chaos

Hi. Let me begin with myself. I am Nehal Garg. I am from and work in Delhi. All of 23. Have had the distasteful pleasure of being in the corporate for 3 years now. And, I happen to be a chartered accountant.

And maybe, when anybody would come to ask us a ‘tell me about yourself’, that is mostly what we would circle around. Because so are we structured. Bingo!

I was just sitting across a director, of one top-notch company in India, when this struck me. He was my interviewer, and he desperately wanted to know what interested me. And I just started with what I spoke above. The interview went well. I got selected. Congrats to me.

But later, when I came to think of it, I did not really want the job. Because that is not what I see myself doing for the next 40 years of my life. Oh god no. In fact, an extremely sad realization was, i did not want to become a chartered accountant in the first place. I chose to become one, because i had no clue of what i wanted to do when i got through high school. Yes I didn’t.

I am a creative person. Artist / dancer sorts. I hold a diploma for Bharatnatyam, a classical dance form, performed internationally, was a part of the dance group of my school throughout, won national awards, tried a hand at taking up art as a side business. It was all superb. But it never occurred to me to take up any of it as a profession. Maybe because they were not the ‘traditional’ jobs one would do. CA was one. And i did it. And now, I’m stuck :/

Hold on guys, the worst is yet to come. Even after all of it, have I rectified any of it? No. Why, one would ask. Because now I feel stupid for having wasted four years into something i did not want. And also i feel scared of venturing into something I’d like to do. What if it doesn’t work out? What if it doesn’t make me money? What if I regret two years down the line, of not having taken the job I interviewed for?

For me, I’m still in the process of self discovery. For somebody who has figured it all out, kudos. And for others who are far from thinking about where life is going, you’ll either make history or coffee.

But you know what they say, ‘You don’t always need a plan. Sometimes you just need to breathe, trust, let go, and see what happens’ 🙂

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑